Currently teaching five disciples, two of whom Keerthana and Sruthi Sagar, are undergoing intense training and have won several prizes in competitions and have bagged the Central Government Scholarship for young musicians.

Sruthi Sagar has had his Arangetram in July 2006, and has been selected to perform under the Iyal Isai Nataka Manram scheme. He is on the way to becoming a star in the field. Sruthi Sagar has also bagged the First prize in the All India Radio competition in the year 2007, and is graded BHigh in the All India Radio. His sister Keerthana bagged the Thambura prize for the year 2007 awarded by the Indian Fine Arts Society, Chennai and also had her arangetram in 2008. She has also been selected to perform under the Iyal Isai Nataka Manram scheme. Both siblings are very busy on the concert circuit.

The other disciples of Dr.Sunder are Kavitha, Karthik, Srinidhi, Srivatsan Mahathi Rasika Prarthana Saikripa, Anugraha, Subiksha, Akshaya, Srilekha Manoj and Samyukta Ranganathan.

Qualification and examinership

  • B.A. (Indian Music) from Madras University, 1985 - 1988.
  • Has been examiner for the practical paper in B.A. Music 1998.
  • Has set the question papers for the exams held in Canada.
  • Appointed Faculty member for the postgraduate music course conducted by the International Vedanta University.


Dr.Sunder has an enviable repertoire. Sabhas look up to him to render special concerts based on compositions by specific composers. He has had the credit of bringing out the rare and more recent compositions of the legendary contemporary composer Thanjavur Sankara Iyer when the composer was recuperating from an illness. Has inherited the inimitable style of master Shri D. K. Jayaraman and learnt more than 500 songs from him and others.

Has performed Full Length Concerts in compositions by:

  • Saint Tyagaraja
  • Syama Sastry
  • Muthuswamy Dikshitar
  • Swathi Tirunal
  • Appar [thevarams]
  • Sundarar Thevarams
  • Alwars
  • Annamacharya
  • Pattanam Subramania Iyer
  • Papanasam Sivan
  • Muthiah Bhagavathar
  • Gopalakrishna Bharati
  • Tanjavur Sankara Iyer
  • Purandaradasa